Posts

For Instructors: Options for Catalog Listings

Image
There are several mandatory and optional settings that the E-Learning admins will need in order to list your course in Canvas Catalog . This document was written to help you understand those settings, and what impact they will have on your course listing. Required fields Listing Title: The title you want for your course (see first image below) Listing Path: A unique name for your course, for use in a URL. This must be loser case letters, numerals, and dashes only. Teaser: This is a short description to entice users to sign up for your course ( see Listing Image below ) Full Description : This is a long description about your course ( see Details Image below ) Please Note: "Teaser" is only used on the Listing Image, and the Listing Image is only used if "Visibility" is set to public  (see below) . Optional Fields Enrollment Cap and Wait List: Give a number listing the maximum number of students you want in the course at once, and whether you want users ...

For Admins: Running a Postman Collection

If there are multiple iterations of a single API call, each with different parameters, it makes sense to use a PostMan collection to automate those calls. For example, this course: https://uth.test.instructure.com/courses/26911 We want to undelete ten enrollments from a section in this course. The undelete command is: POST https://uth.test.instructure.com/api/v1/sections/26959/enrollments?enrollment[user_id]=5227&enrollment[enrollment_state]=active But the enrollments we want to undelete (by user id) are: 5227, 10564, 106, 10697, 12375, 12715, 1305, 1307, 1327, 1441 Step 1: Create a data file (csv) that looks like this: userid 5227 10564 106 10697 12375 12715 1305 1307 1327 1441 Step 2: Move the POST command to its own folder in PostMan. It will be the sole API call in that folder/collection Step 3: Modify the POST command to: POST https://uth.test.instructure.com/api/v1/sections/26959/enrollments?enrollment[user_id]={{userid}}&enr...

Faculty Observer Role

Image
"Faculty Observer" is a special role in Canvas granted to UTHealth faculty by their school's LMS Advisory Team (LMSAT) member. This role is managed in accordance with the Canvas Policy: Administration of Canvas This role gives users the ability to view content in all courses in the Canvas subaccount to which they are added. It does NOT give a user the ability to view grades or modify anything within the course. After the LMSAT member fulfills a faculty member's request for this role, the faculty member will see a new item on the left side of their Canvas screen, the Admin button: Clicking it will reveal a Courses option: This will provide a searchable list of all courses that the user has access to view. Please direct questions to your school's LMSAT member.

Canvas, Cidi (Kennethware) and Mobile-First

Image
"Mobile First" is one of the newest terms in web-based application design. It indicates that a site or web application was written to display gracefully on both small-screened mobile devices and a large-screened desktop. Canvas and Cidi Design Tools are Mobile First. Students will see a pleasant, un-cluttered display no matter what device they use for Canvas. This page is meant to provide some examples to illustrate these applications' Mobile First design. Course home page (desktop browser): Course home page (mobile browser): Course home page (Canvas app): Syllabus page (desktop browser): Syllabus page (mobile browser): Syllabus page (mobile app)

OneClass Malware Warning

Image
At UTHealth we always recommend that you be careful when installing extensions and plugins for your web browser. We have received a warning from our friends at Canvas  to let us know about a new Chrome extension,  OneClass , that behaves suspiciously. Here’s what they had to say: The “OneClass” Chrome extension behaves like malware. It can affect users of several LMSs, including Canvas. OneClass is not affiliated with Instructure in any way. When a user installs the OneClass Chrome extension, it asks for permission to “read and change all your data on websites you visit.” If a user grants this permission, the plugin places a button in the user’s LMS (Canvas or other) labeled “Invite your classmates to OneClass.” If the user clicks this button, OneClass sends messages to all of the other users enrolled in the course via the LMS’s messaging system (for Canvas, that’s Conversations). DO NOT install or use the OneClass Chrome extension!  Remove it immediat...

For Instructors: Prevent single student from accessing a course

Image
If an instructor wants to prevent a single student from accessing course material of a PAST course, the instructor can deactivate the student enrollment. If the course is current, have the Registrar withdraw the student instead; do NOT follow these instructions. To prevent ALL students from viewing content, unpublish the content. Directions From the course, go to "People" and find the student in question. Then, from the gear box, click "Deactivate user": The user will be flagged as "inactive". To reactivate the user, follow the same process, but click "Re-activate user". While the enrollment is inactive, the course will disappear from this student's course list.

What does it mean to Conclude a course? How does an instructor control student access?

Image
"Concluding" a course means the instructor is declaring the course officially over. Courses can also conclude automatically, if the course's semester (term) has ended. How does an instructor conclude a course? In your course, choose Settings, then Conclude this Course What effect does it have to conclude a course? After a course is concluded, a Teacher: Can view but Cannot add or publish Announcements Can view but Cannot create or modify Assignments Can view but Cannot modify student grades Can view but Cannot upload or delete files. Can view but Cannot create, publish, or delete pages. Can view but Cannot modify enrollments Can view but Cannot modify course settings After a course is concluded, a Student: Can view Announcements Can view but cannot upload Assignments Can view grades Can view but Cannot edit pages. How can I unconclude a course? A course instructor cannot unconclude a course. This can only be done by an administrator. I don...